Stage 3 review of AE inventories

Stage 3 review is a technical  in-depth review of selected countries, checking if submitted emission inventories are complete, consistent through the time, properly documented, and accurate. Annual in-depth review aims to be consistent across the Parties and the process should ensure that the same approach is performed each year with aim  is to check in detail the inventories of each Party at least once every 5 years. The process is supported by the European Environment Agency (EEA). 

S3 review 2018 - 2020

S3 review plan was updated after 4th Joint session of WGE and SB to EMEP (Geneva, 11-15 Sept 2018)

*Bosnia and Herzegovina did not provide any emission data to EMEP/CEIP yet. Review canceled.

**No data  reported to EMEP since 2013. Review of Montenegro canceled. 

Year List of countries
2019 Albania,  Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Georgia, Montenegro**, Norway, Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey
2020 European Union, North Macedonia,  Iceland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Switzerland
2018 Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Finland, Moldova, Ukraine

3rd joint session of WGE and the Steering Body (SB) to EMEP (Geneva, 11-15 September 2017)

  • welcomed the efforts under the European Union to harmonize the national inventory reviews under the National Emission Ceilings Directive with those under the Convention;
  • recommended that the two review processes be coordinated with respect to priorities, scopes, resources (reviewers) and timelines, to ensure consistency and complementarity and to avoid possible overlaps, duplication of efforts and inconsistent conclusions; recommended to evaluate the coordination efforts upon the completion of the 5-year cycle (2018-2022).

In-depth Review 2013-2017

Year List of countries
2017   Albania**, Austria, Malta*, EU, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan*, Liechtenstein*, Monaco*
2016 Estonia, Georgia, Iceland, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Russian Federation, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom
2015 Azerbaijan, Belarus, Czechia, Ireland, Republic of Moldova, The Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine
2014 Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Greece, Germany, Hungary, Spain
2013 Bulgaria, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden

2017 review round

  • Malta did not submit IIR 
  • Armenia indicated submission of data in May, but did not provide any data
  • Kazakhstan, Kirgizstan did not submit IIR 
  • Monaco and Lichtenstein provided data in  late May
  • Montenegro did not report any data within last 3 years – latest submission from 2013 - reveiew postponed to 2018
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina did not submit  any inventory so far, review postponed to 2018  
  • Finland asked EMEP/CEIP for postponing its review - planned now for 2018

27 countries  have been reviewed in period 2013-15. Review of Switzerland planed for 2015 has been postponed to the year 2016. 

The changes in 2014 review plan have been agreed during the EMEP SB bureau meeting in March 2014. The UNECE secretariat informed concerned Parties about the upcoming changes.

  • In-depth inventory review of the Netherlands and Ireland has been postponed to the year 2015. Review of Germany and Croatia has been conducted instead.
  • Russia and Moldova did not submit inventory data in 2014, therefore the centralised in-depth review of these 2 countries has been cancelled.

S3 /in-depth reviews of AE inventories 2008-2012

Year List of countries
   2008 France, Norway, Portugal and Sweden (voluntary)
   2009  Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Spain
  2010 Austria, Cyprus, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Russian Federation*, Slovakia, Switzerland and United Kingdom
  2011 Czechia, Belarus, Croatia, Estonia*, Greece*, Iceland, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Slovenia and Ukraine*
  2012 Albania*, Georgia*, European Community, Liechtenstein*, Malta*, Monaco*, Republic of Moldova*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Turkey*


Centralised review

6 Parties have been reviewed in 2018. Final country reports are published  here.


Next in-depth review is  planned for 25-28 June 2019 in Copenhagen, 6 countries should be reviewed by 2 expert review teams (ERTs). 

Roster of review experts

Roster of review experts [PDF, 415KB]

24 Parties (from 49 eligible) nominated 101 emission inventory experts to the EMEP/CEIP roster.


Nomination form [DOC, 59KB]to be downloaded.

 Supporting materials for the review teams: